Featured Sponsor

GE Johnson Construction Company

Featured Supporter

Rehrig Pacific Company

Featured Friend

Chaffee County

Recycling News

Congratulations to the 2017 Recycling Award recipients


The Colorado Association for Recycling (CAFR) announces the recipients of the 2017 Recycling Awards. Winners were nominated by their industry peers in recognition of their contributions to or promotion of recycling and waste reduction.

The honorees:

  • Outstanding Business Recycling/Diversion Program
    Arapahoe Basin
  • Outstanding Government or Nonprofit Recycling/Diversion Program
    Four Corners Recycling Initiative
  • Outstanding Media Coverage
    Kevin Fixler, Summit Daily News
  • Outstanding Elected Official
    Jolon Clark, City and County of Denver
  • Cara Russell Rising Star
    Megan Lane, City and County of Denver
  • Mereth Meade Volunteer of the Year
    Russ Callas, resident of Boulder
  • Recycler of the Year
    Dani Orth, Alliance for Sustainable Colorado
  • Recycler of the Year
    Nick Beni, Spark Fun Electronics
  • Lifetime Achievement
    Susie Gordon, City of Fort Collins

This year’s awards highlight individuals who go out of their way to implement recycling in their offices and warehouses, media coverage that helped save a community’s access to recycling, and the unlimited dedication of volunteers to increase recycling and waste diversion. The Outstanding Government or Nonprofit Recycling Award is presented to the Four Corners Recycling Initiative (FCRI) for sustaining a recycling system for Montezuma County and the surrounding region since 2007. FCRI operates without tax payer funds and serves as a model of fiscal responsibility, raising all of the money necessary to operate through fundraisers, partnerships, grants, cost-share agreements, rebates, commodity sales and donations.

The awards will be presented at the annual Recycling Awards Gala, Monday evening, June 5, at the Rio Grande Restaurant in Fort Collins, Colorado. Tickets are $55 and are available online at www.cafr.org/summit.

The Recycling Awards Gala is part of the Summit for Recycling conference, hosted by CAFR. The Summit for Recycling is designed to support recycling professionals with tools, resources, and information that will guide them in their efforts to advance recycling. The conference schedule is complete with workshops, panel discussions, exhibit hall, site tours, silent auction, and networking opportunities.

CAFR is committed to supporting, educating and guiding individuals and leaders in business, education, nonprofits and government to take action that turns ever greater amounts of waste into marketable resources.  Questions? Read more about the awards or contact Executive Director Laurie Johnson.

This entry was posted on Friday, May 5th, 2017.